A trip to the library

“In a good bookroom you feel in some mysterious way that you are absorbing the wisdom contained in all the books through your skin, without even opening them.” – Mark Twain

9XWFOW3MDF

My first trip to the library in years deserves its own blog post right? Yes, because it was somewhat magical.

I spent a lot of time in the library as a child. I always enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and the feeling of escaping everything else. When I was in the library, it was just me, my thoughts and piles of books. There was no bullying, there was no fighting, there was no pressure, there was no judgement, it was just me and the excitement of finding a new book that would more than likely have some sort of impact on me.

Reading helped me escape my reality and step into something else when I needed to. It fed my inquisitive mind. It taught me invaluable lessons. It helped me through difficult times and good times. It was always there.

Why I waited so long to return to a library after school is the first question I asked myself when I walked into the doors of my local library which has had a major upgrade since I was last there in High School. I was overwhelmed and excited because I just knew that there were endless possibilities in this beautiful room, there was so much waiting for me all neatly stacked in alphabetical order and categorized according to theme.

There is way more to a library than just shelves of books. There are magical places waiting to be visited and explored. There are characters who are waiting to be met. There is an authors heart and soul on paper. There are books that have been touched by many and who have touched many. There is a level of comradery between everyone who is browsing those shelves because you are all on the same mission and you have the same appreciation.

I left with an arm full of books and a happy and excited heart. I go back every two weeks now and still feel excited every time.

Reading is one form of magic I believe in and a library is one of the places where that magic lives.

“A library is a good place to go when you feel unhappy, for there, in a book, you may find encouragement and comfort. A library is a good place to go when you feel bewildered or undecided, for there, in a book, you may have your question answered. Books are good company, in sad times and happy times, for books are people – people who have managed to stay alive by hiding between the covers of a book.” – E.B White

2 thoughts on “A trip to the library

  1. I haven’t been to the library in YEARS! This post makes me feel bad for not stepping foot into one for this long. It would be an interesting lil bookish adventure though! I should go soon…

    Nihaad – Read & Seek

Leave a Reply

