A simple girl in a not so simple world

Womans-Hand-Golding-Pretty-Spring-Flowers

I am still getting the hang of giving up my old lifestyle which I realized was bringing me down more than anything. I had goals that were somewhat unattainable (I can’t dress like Kim K as I don’t have her budget and I can’t buy a house when I am knee deep in debt as it is) so I guess you could say when I decided to make the changes to try and live a simpler life, I got realistic.

I wanted too much, I wanted a full life but I don’t even enjoy busy weekends, I wanted things and lots of them, I just wanted, all the time. But with that want came envy, very little gratitude for the things I did have and mostly unhappiness inside.

There is a change in me that is almost indescribable. I am happier and lighter and wake up feeling so grateful every single morning. I have accepted myself completely, learn new things about myself daily and instead of pushing them aside and thinking “but I don’t want to be that kind of person” or “that’s a weird thing to like” I embrace it.

I see what is important now – it is like my eyes are open to a completely different world. Not having the latest “it” bag is not going to mean I am less of a lady. Having a cupboard full of food that is going to refuel my body is more important than having a cupboard full of clothes. Being at home with my husband and cat spending quality time together doing things we enjoy is just as fun as going out. I don’t view my life as boring anymore, it is meaningful. I spend so much more time doing things that are going to make a difference in my life or that I really and truly enjoy.

The present is my reality, I live in it, I learn, I enjoy, I participate, I feel. I also give so much more, I give more emotion and more time.

The simple things make me happier. A good smelling, clutter free home. A nice long bath. A good book. A laugh with my family. A nice message from a friend. A bit of alone time. A good spring clean. Plants and fresh flowers.

Living simply is really quite simple. It takes some evaluation and a realization.

I have let it all go, all the envy, trying to keep up, competing, self hate. I am just a simple girl now living my simple life and enjoying every second of it.

12 thoughts on “A simple girl in a not so simple world

  1. ahh i am so proud of your new way of thinking and your positive attitude. You have come such a long way in such a short time actually. well done and keep going

    1. I couldn’t agree more and once the material value gets that low, life really begins I feel.
      Thank you for stopping by and for your comment. I love to hear people’s thoughts.

  2. Huge respect for simplifying your life! It’s not an easy thing to do in today’s society with so much pressure and bombardment of stuff but sounds like you’re on the path you were intended to be on 🙂

    1. Hi Bianca, thank you so much for stopping by and reading 🙂
      I was stuck in such a rut of trying to have everything and I was never happy. Now I want less and I have less and I am happier. Who would have thought? But I am glad I made the change so that I can stop the wanting and just enjoy life x

  3. This is such an amazing post, Kerry! Well done! You are such an inspiration… you and I definitely seem to be on a similar path at the moment. I’m slowly learning to let go of ‘stuff’, and trying to be more present. Easier said than done, though! Looking forward to reading more about your journey as you go! x

    1. Thanks Chereen. We are indeed on the same path. In fact, it was you who made me look into all of this so it is more like you are the inspiration :).
      I am also in the slow learning process but I am enjoying. It is like a whole new life for me and of course I am not always over the moon happy but I definitely feel a difference and I am happier more often which is amazing!
      Thanks for reading and your kind comment x

Leave a Reply

