A bath time story

Remember when you were younger and you looked forward to bedtime stories? You would lie in bed all snuggled up listening intently to a magical story that helped your little eyes close and slowly go into a place of wonder, fantasy and dreams.

I have found the adult equivalent – bath time.

If I have had a bad day, if I am feeling anxious, drained or even uninspired, I just know to get into a warm bath with some good products and off I go to a place of calm, relaxation and productive thinking (rather than chaotic thinking)

I always enjoyed a good bath but only recently have I learnt that this is one of the only places I can go to clear my mind and make me feel better about almost anything. It is my little space of comfort, where I get inspiration (seriously, almost all of my ideas come to me in the bath).

My newest addition to my routine is to listen to he Calm App while in the bath. This takes the experience to a whole new level because it feels like I am in a spa, or even in nature, which are both places I love to be so it just helps me reach that happy place where I get to completely wind down.

And, it is not just me that feels this way, there are studies that show the same result.

Neil Morris, a psychologist at the University of Wolverhampton who studied 80 people who took a bath every day for a fortnight, says: “I found that bathing improved general psychological wellness radically. There was a significant drop in feelings of pessimism about the future and increases in hedonic tone, the internal feeling of pleasurability.

“And I believe that the results could be even more impressive over a longer period of time. Baths give you the chance to stop the day for a few minutes, in a way that showers can’t. There is a wonderful combination of isolation, quiet and comfort”.

*Taken from the Telegraph

I went through a stage not so long ago where I wasn’t sleeping properly because my mind would just not shut down. I was re-thinking everything in my life, I had decisions to make which I hate doing, I was under pressure in a lot of areas of my life and I just wasn’t myself. One night I felt a panic attack coming on, my mind was so noisy and filled with crap that I felt for a second that I was going mad. I got into a bath filled with oils, chose my Calm sound (they are actually called scenes in the app) and I lay there for about an hour. By the time I got out my mind was quieter, I felt calmer and felt like I could deal with what needed to be dealt with.

I am naturally a worry wart and am quite uptight at the best of times so I really need the bit of time to get out of my head and take a break from the chaos.

Some of the products I am using at the moment include Darling Jane, Rain Africa, Lulu and Marula and MR P Body products

What are your favourite products to use?

3 thoughts on “A bath time story

Leave a Reply

