Blegging & other misconceptions

The misconceptions about blogging are actually laughable. Yes, bloggers seem to live an eventful, exciting, even glamorous life, but that is what they choose to show you. What you don’t see behind the scenes is hard work, a certain level of pressure and even self-doubt. A blog post that you see and read that looks so well put together and perfectly edited probably took a few hours. A hundred pictures were taken to get the perfect shot, inspiration was needed.

It is not so pretty behind the scenes, there is a certain competitiveness, there is an expectation from not only your readers but also from PR companies. There is also envy to some degree, and nobody likes the green eyed monster to attack from behind right?

Don’t get me wrong, I love blogging and I know that most bloggers do too, and even though it is a lot of hard work and sometimes there are the “darker” times, we carry on with it because it is what we love and we are doing it for the right reasons. There are the good times – like when you get really great feedback on a post, or even get a retweet. The events and freebies can be nice too BUT are not everything, which brings me to my list of misconceptions about blogging.

Freebies are fun

Yes – a freebie is great, but we don’t get a delivery every single day and we certainly don’t blog to get free things everyday. Of course, there are the few who think “hey, it looks cool to be a blogger because they get so much free stuff” and start a blog, a blog which more than likely won’t succeed (right reasons remember?). It is very obvious to readers and brands when you are a suck up and “blegger” (more about that later). Every Instagram picture is not of something we received for free! We do buy our own stuff.

We will do anything

No, we will not! We will not sell our souls to get the latest product. We will not jump through hoops to get onto a media list. Readers, please know that if we choose to review something or collaborate with a brand, it is because we want to! PR, please remember that we will only review or collaborate if we want to.

Respect

There can be a certain lack of respect coming from all sides in the blogging world.  but I can speak for myself and say that I respect bloggers, I respect PR companies and brands, and I respect my readers. This is what respect for each means

Bloggers – Helping and supporting one another. Respecting your voice and opinion, even if I don’t agree with it.

PR companies – Communicating efficiently, always being well-mannered and taking any project you give me seriously.

Readers – To keep giving you what you enjoy. Reading and replying to all questions and comments. To appreciate that you are my reader. To stay true to myself and my blog.

That ‘blegging” thing

Yes, some bloggers have given us a really bad name by blegging but we are not all bleggers and just because we Tweet or tag a brand does not mean we are blegging. You see, when you like something, you give credit, you let them know you like it. But you do not beg for it!

Blogging is easy peazy

As I said in the beginning of the post – it may seem like it is but it isn’t. You constantly need to come up with fresh ideas and original content. You need to make sure your writing and images are up to scratch because you want to create something you can be proud of. Also, most of us have started a blog for reasons not only associated with the good side of blogging but also to promote our brand, get our name out there, to get writing practice, to just write about things we love and enjoy. The back-end of blogging is also tough – getting your blog to look good and function properly, it is all not as easy as it looks, but is something we can all agree we really enjoy.

The fine line between honesty and dishonesty

There is a constant debate about this in the blogging world. Do bloggers lie about their thoughts on products just to keep receiving products or to stay in a brand’s good books? I cannot speak for every blogger but I would never risk my readership and their trust just to receive something. I don’t do many reviews but I do know that so many of our wonderful SA bloggers are transparent and either give their totally honest opinions, good or bad on their blogs OR they choose to just not feature bad reviews.

Like I said blogging can be tough and believe me when I say readers don’t grow overnight. But if you doing it for the right reasons then everything will grow naturally – your readership, your love for blogging, you will even grow. The blogging world is amazing because of the friends you make who teach you so much. It is also nice to have that personal space which you can use to do anything you like with.

These are just a few of the misconceptions – trust me there are so many but if you enjoyed this post then I could do a second one. What are your thoughts on this topic?

16 thoughts on “Blegging & other misconceptions

  1. YES! YES! YES! Round of applause!
    I agree with EVERYTHING you’ve said here Kerry!
    Nicely done!

  2. I love this Kerry! Well said and I agree with all points 😀
    So important that you brought up the fact that it’s a lot of effort and work behind the scenes.

    1. Haha Gae, for a short while there was actually a Tumblr account created (called Blegging) where they screenshot bloggers who they considered to be blegging. It was taken down shortly after because I think it was offensive. Don’t know who ran the account but they were keeping a close eye on us bloggers. That is where I heard the term

  3. Hi Kerry, I’ve just read a few of your blogs and I’m impressed. I particularly liked this post because I’m considering blogging and it opened me up to the challenges of blogging. I want to share my idea’s and train of thought with readers and to connect with them, whether it be agreements or disagreements because it will open my eyes to a whole different perspective. Keep up the great work and good luck.

    1. Hi Yeshantha
      I am so glad you enjoy my blog and you liked this post. Good for you for wanting to start a blog. It is an awesome way to share yourself and your thoughts with the world.
      Just stay on the track of doing it for the right reasons and you will enjoy and others will enjoy reading it.
      If you need any help or other advice, please feel free to contact me or any of the awesome bloggers who have commented here or who I follow on Twitter.

    1. Thanks so much 🙂
      Like I told Gae, there was a Tumblr created with this name and that is where I heard the term first. It is spot on because there definitely are those trying to get freebies.

  4. Great post Kerry! I also hadn’t heard of the term ‘blegging’ but it’s pretty much spot on 🙂
    x

Leave a Reply

