Tips for brides to be

Since I am in the last phase of my planning and with less than a month to go, I thought I would share some of what I have learnt during this process. It is fun, it is stressful, it consumes you and at 11pm at night you will lie awake thinking about what colour eyeshadow you want.

– Know that you are not going to please everyone, all the time, so be prepared to be “bridezilla” when it comes to making decisions based on what you want and like.

– Decide what you like and then get off Pinterest! The more you look, the more you will change your mind and doubt any decisions you have made to date.

– You are going to get confused so always take some time to think about something before saying yes. I also found that by limiting the choices (because I am so bad at making them) I felt more at ease with my decisions. I tried to keep the confusion minimal.

– Everyone is going to want to be involved in the planning but the more people, the more heads to bash so try keep those numbers down as well.

– If you want to shed some kilos before the wedding, start asap because the closer the day gets, the more stressed you get about EVERYTHING which can mean stress eating. Also, by having time on your hands you will be able to do it the healthy way and not go to extremes to look how you want to on your special day.

– Triple check EVERYTHING. Trust me, the last thing you want three weeks out from your wedding is to realise that your veil isn’t the same shade of your white as your dress and you now have to try and get your money back for it and find a suitable one. But like I said, triple check everything. Make sure that people who have offered to do certain things are doing them, that your service providers know all the details and just be OCD if you have to.

– Make lists, this will help you to triple check everything, as mentioned above and will also help you stay on top of things. I can’t tell you how many times I have forgotten about payments I have to make (because there are so damn many).

– I have been told that the minor details won’t be a big thing on the day, but as a bride, you worry about the minor things but just do what you can and then leave it at that.

Yes, we all want the perfect day, but remember it is just a day and is definitely not worth losing your sanity over. To be completely honest I didn’t have the best time planning my wedding but it was purely because I got stressed out every time I saw the prices of things or just shut down when something went wrong (I don’t do well in those situations) and now that it is nearly here, i wish I had enjoyed it because it is part of the process and is meant to be fun, so most importantly, enjoy and savour it because it only happens once.

 

Leave a Reply

