Stand up for what you believe in

I was reading an article about my soul sister, Lena Dunham this morning and it inspired this blog post.

Basically, Lena will not marry her long time boyfriend Jack Antonoff until there is marriage equality (you can read more here) . Some may say this is silly and she is only spiting herself and her partner, but others, namely me, think that standing up for something she feels so strongly about in such a powerful way, makes a statement about who she is, it says that she will stand up for what she believes in and not doing it in a small way, or sitting behind her computer saying she wants change and expecting it to happen, which once again so many do, namely me.

Another example of standing up for what you believe in is blogger and business owner, Talya Goldberg, recently vegan and making her own differences. In her recent blog posts you will read how she turns down events if it is for a product that is not cruelty free and vegan friendly and how she has taken on brands that don’t know their status.

We need more of this, we need to be stronger, as women, as voices of our generation.

I am guilty of just letting things go because I would rather avoid conflict or because I am not sure what the outcome will be but the truth is we can never predict the outcome of anything and there are always going to be those who disagree with you or your opinion.

Here goes my first attempt at voicing my unfiltered opinions;

In the news

Gavin Rajah needs to take a serious look at his career – changing the colour of a dress doesn’t make it different. Being so blasé about the allegations only causes more irritation amongst those who want answers. We also don’t need someone who obviously sees nothing wrong with copying representing our country in anything. Plagiarism is fraud and we have enough of that!

Body politics

As much as I am all for the fight of plus size being accepted, etc. I think that it’s not only plus size ladies that have body issues or face daily battles so we need to stop focusing on one body type or women of certain weights and work together to help all women, of all shapes and sizes. There is such a focus on plus sized women being victims but all women are victims of the media feeding us with a load of photoshopped crap.

Bloggers

Popular bloggers need to start remembering they also started at the bottom and their readers are who make them who they are so don’t forget to show them appreciation and reply to their comments. Also, be nice to one another, the internet is a world wide web, there is space for all of us.

Social media

This is a space to have your say, but don’t go down hard on people who have their say and you don’t agree. Also, can we just all agree that sub tweeting is for cowards and it is annoying.

Now, I want to hear your opinion on whatever it is you feel strongly about.

6 thoughts on “Stand up for what you believe in

  1. Love this post, Kerry – and I couldn’t agree more! I’ve also been on a similar journey to the one that Talya has been on, which I happened upon after reading up about the yoga principal of Ahimsa. It was very easy for me to switch to being vegetarian, but I suddenly realised that my long-standing beauty habits don’t support my eating habits or new beliefs, so I’ve had to take a long, hard look in the mirror. I’m making changes – albeit slowly at first – but I can’t tell you how excited I am to know that there are others that are standing up for what they believe in. Imagine how much better the world would be if we all took a stand?

    1. Thanks Chereen and HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you lovely!
      I had no idea you were also changing paths – One step at a time is still better than being on the couch so well done to you.
      I totally agree, it excites me too because we so used to keeping quiet.

  2. Kristen Bell and hubby Dax Shepard did the same. They waited until gay marriage was legal in their state and then they got married. They spoke about it often in interviews and I applaud them for that.

Leave a Reply

