A simple life

I never wanted a simple life you know – In fact,  I always wanted to be busy, I wanted lots of things, I wanted all the trends and clothes. I wanted for so much that there was no way anything could be simple.

But then I grew up or I changed or something like that and I now want everything to be simple, everything except my mind.

Simple doesn’t necessarily mean easy, it means clutter free and I need to get rid of some clutter…. in all aspects of my life. I want space, I want time, I want to be focused and calm. I feel that a simple life will bring me closer to that.

Here are a few things I am going to start with. If you have any tips, please share them with me.

Commitments – I don’t have a long list of commitments but I do need to evaluate the ones I make to ensure that they benefit me or my loved ones in some way. This leads to also being able to say no, which I REALLY struggle with.

Make lists – I am not going to live my entire life according to lists but I am going to use lists often.

Evaluate time – I need to start using my time more wisely.

De-clutter my home – I wouldn’t call myself a hoarder but I don’t realize how much junk I have which just clutters up my space. I need to be ruthless and chuck out all those cutesy décor items I bought when I first moved in that just gather dust and don’t make a difference in my life.

Simplify my wardrobe –  My wardrobe is the one thing that I do sort out often because of my absolute shopping addiction and impulsive nature. But even though I do sort it regularly, I still feel like I don’t like it. I don’t like my wardrobe and I don’t like everything that is in it.

Simplify my style – I spoke about this last year and sort of started on it but want to try harder this year. I want to build up some awesome basics and a simple personal style.

Media consumption – I hardly allow my mind to relax because I am constantly on social media/blogs/the net filling it up. I love social media and am a freelance social media manager but I need to give my mind a break more often than I do now (especially at night).

Device clean up – All my devices are in an absolute state of clutter. Pictures in wrong folders, things all over the place. Time for a total clean up.

Create routines and stick to them – I am much happier when I have a routine.

Exercise and spend time alone – Just to give my mind a break every now and then.

Ask myself with this simplify my life? If the answer is no, then I don’t want/need it.

rsz_43c6b0379f925e389f275a93736d2da1

As a naturally anxious person, I need calmness. I feel like simplicity will bring some calmness into my life because clutter just messes with my mind.

Leave a Reply

