Review: The woman who stole my Life ~ Marian Keyes

22009741

This was the first Marian Keyes book I have read and I cannot believe that I waited this long to give her a chance.

The Woman who stole my life follows the story of Stella Sweeney who has taken a real knock from life.. She has returned from New York after a book tour but what happens before the tour, during and after is what makes this book worth a read.

At first I wasn’t convinced about the book because it alternated between time lines with each chapter which I felt was a bit overwhelming and confusing, but a few chapters in you learn the time lines and know what to expect with the next chapter. It gets to the point where you can’t wait to get to the next chapter because you want to go back in time to hear the past story but then you want to finish that chapter to read about the present. It changed my mind completely about this style of writing.

As for the actual story, it is believable in that the events are ones that could happen to any of us. It is not a fantasy, it is not unrealistic, it could happen.

There was a lack of character build up and description because when I put the book down I had no picture of either of the characters in my mind but because I enjoyed the story so much, I will let the fact that I couldn’t cast these characters properly (something I always do) go. Even though I cannot picture Stella’s son, I dislike him very much in the book. As for all the other characters they seemed crazy enough to be real.

This book actually taught me about a disease I didn’t know about before reading it, a very scary and real disease. It also taught me about how quickly things can change. I enjoy finding little lessons in the books I read, whether they were intentional by the writer or not, I find them.

This book is long, 534 pages but I flew through it and devoured every page. The need to know what has happened and what is going to happen is definitely there.

Upon doing some research, a lot of Marian Keyes fans were a bit disappointed with this book but because I haven’t read anything else by her I don’t have anything to compare it to so this is just me telling you that I loved this book and if you are a fan of chick lit, a bit of romance, a bit of intensity, you will probably enjoy this.

Thanks to Penguin books for sending me this to review.

One thought on “Review: The woman who stole my Life ~ Marian Keyes

  1. I thought about reading this one and wanted to get a copy. I’m glad you enjoyed it even though there was a lack of character growth. I’ve also never read anything by Marian Keyes.

Leave a Reply

