Things this week

This week so far has been one of the hardest I have ever had to face and as I write this I am feeling insecure, needy and fearful. Without going into too much detail, my mom ended up in hospital on Monday night with a scare. Sitting with her for over five hours at a government hospital, seeing her in pain and not knowing what was going to happen made me into a wreck and since then I haven’t been able to get rid of the lump in my throat and the fear that my whole body is riddled with.

At the time, we didn’t know what was wrong, we didn’t know when she was going to be attended to, we didn’t know if she was going to be admitted and operated on (we still don’t know a lot of these things actually). That feeling of the unknown and fear puts everything into perspective.

But on a happier note I can say that she is okay, we are not in the clear yet but she is doing better.

I am using this as a lesson and I would like to share this lesson with you because in a time where a magazine cover of a fake ass trends we all need to refocus.

The unpredictability of life is very real and as cliché as it is, every moment must be lived, enjoyed and not a day should pass where you don’t tell your loved ones how you feel.

Your life is an investment so put in whatever you need to. A good medical aid, good health choices, exercise, the works.

Way too much time is spent worrying about things that actually don’t matter like what other people think of you, how many followers you have, etc.

We need to help each other and be kinder to one another, everyone is fighting battles, everyone could use some help or even just a smile.

Now that you have read my cliché post, pick up your phone right now and call/message/WhatsApp/Skype those closest to you!

3 thoughts on “Things this week

  1. Really does sound like a rough week. I’m so sorry to hear that. Hope you and of course your mom are feeling better soon. xx

Leave a Reply

