17 days in

We have hit day 17 and I hope everyone is still going strong because I know that this is the time it becomes  a bit harder if you are anything like me,

It has been 17 days of absolutely clean eating and grueling exercise which I have definitely been enjoying but 17 days without chocolate has not been easy, 17 days of meal prep and cooking every single day and night and not a break in between because… no takeaways, has also been new to me. (Have I mentioned my dislike for cooking before?)

I am still feeling very motivated and excited but I do have my moments of weakness where my mind just torchers me because as much as I enjoy this new lifestyle and I am not struggling with hunger or anything, I still have those old habits in memory which tease me. I have also always just eaten what I wanted to and when I wanted to so I am now in the process of trying to forget those habits and memories and really embrace this new lifestyle whole heartedly.

As I write these things I always wonder if people think I am crazy or are judging me because actually, my struggles are small (I am complaining about food when at least I have some food) but the truth is unless you have been an overweight person who has gone through this process, you actually won’t understand any of this. In fact, maybe even some overweight people won’t understand this but I know there are some who will because the struggle might be small, but it is real.

Habits and addictions are hard to break, we all know this, and for many, myself included, food is a habit and an addiction. Therefore it is hard, there are struggles, there are times where people won’t understand how empty you feel because you can’t have that slab of chocolate while watching your favourite series but this is not about anyone else but you! So find people who will understand and possibly even help you through that moment of weakness. Keep yourself motivated by doing whatever it is that motivates you – whether it is looking at old pictures of yourself, reminding yourself about your wedding in a few months time, browsing Pinterest for quotes or admiring other people’s transformations.

So yes, there have been a few days recently where I wanted to just get a take away because I was too lazy to cook or wanted to fill the gap with something nice, but I haven’t, because that will not help me or my health, it will also not get me any closer to the destination I want to reach.

17 days in and I am feeling slightly “fragile” but I do know that I am nowhere near to giving in, and as each day passes, I am getting closer to goal weight, I am getting closer to a fit and healthy me and I am feeling better overall.

Despite the challenges I have already faced and the ones that I will face in this challenge, I can honestly say that the decision to participate and make this change is one of the best I have ever made.

d25a7629b85bfdda037ed84b5a99bb56

I have started a Pinterest board – Challenge accepted which you can follow for some motivation, food ideas, etc.

 

4 thoughts on “17 days in

  1. Hi Kerry! great post and I know only too well the feeling of needing a little chocolate or something to fill the gap… well done for resisting the urge!!

Leave a Reply

