Release & Renew

As I have mentioned on numerous occasions I recently underwent a makeover – a mind makeover. This doesn’t mean I have changed completely – I am still me, but now I am a me who loves me, I am a me who will be finding joy at every possible avenue and a me that will let my day dreams and imagination take me anywhere they want to because I am going to embrace my inner need to step out of reality and into wherever my mind wants to take me (this will probably be via books, casual days in the beautiful gardens around Durban or just in my bed staring at the ceiling)

As you can see I am more in touch with my spiritual side and am on a mission to do what is good for me, my soul and my happiness (it might not be easy but so worth a try). My mission found me back at my Reiki practitioner (soon to be master) for a follow up session. My first session was in September last year when I was in a totally different space and not entirely convinced about Reiki (I was worried it would conflict with my religion) but after some research I learnt that it is not a religion and will therefore not affect your belief system or religion. It is all about energy, energy is earthly and it doesn’t matter what you believe in, you know the earth and energy exists so I couldn’t argue with that.

Anyway, more about my second Reiki session – it was relaxing, I felt peaceful, excited, relaxed and extremely tired when it was all done. Believe it or not, since my last session in September my chakras have stayed pretty balanced, which is a good thing (a little surprising because I often feel like everything about me can be all over the place) but I took this as a sign that my life is balanced – it is not as bad and down as I always seem to think it is. I have my good times and my bad, I have my ups and my downs, but I very quickly forget the ups when the downs come, which is something I need to work on. It felt good to just lie with soft music playing in the background – at one point I let the music take me and imagined I was dancing to it (I rocked those moves). The session we did was basically to flush me and get rid of any “blockages”, to make sure everything is balanced and then to let go of what has been bugging me the most. Since this was only my second session I am not too clued up on everything but I am learning and loving it.

This is not something that everyone will agree with and believe in and that is totally fine, but it is worth looking into if you are anything like me – emotional, stressed, suffer with anxiety, mind creates these dark places that aren’t really that dark and that always have an exit. I am not going to say Reiki is the answer to all your problems because at the end of the day – the person in control of your mind is you, but it might lead you in the right direction, it might change your thought process or just help you calm down.

I am very glad that I went for a follow up session and will definitely be going to more. Here are a few things my Reiki practitioner and I discussed which I knew but that he confirmed;

–          Put out positivity and you will get positivity back.

–          Always expect more and have hope, the example he used was, if I am having a braai and I invited four people but only two rsvp’d, I am still going to put out four chairs. Whether the other two people come or not is not the actual point but rather that you always have some sort of hope. (Hope is my second favourite word after dream, just by the way)

–          Surround yourself with things/people that are good for you and let go of anything/one that brings you down. This will initially be hard but if you are serious about growing in life and being the happiest you can be, you need to eliminate the bad.

–          The things we worry about are mostly things we have no control over so why do we worry? If you are worrying about something that you can change stop whatever you are doing and change it so that you can move on with your life, if your worry is about something beyond your control, stop whatever you are doing and train your mind to stop worrying.

All of these points struck me hard because as much as I have undergone a “makeover” there is still a lot that needs to be done and these are just a few of them.

Have you ever experienced Reiki? Tell me about it.

holisticunited.com
holisticunited.com

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Release & Renew

    1. Thanks so much for your comment. I can highly recommend it if you are in the place where you want to learn and get in touch with that side of yourself and your life 🙂

  1. Interesting read in light of my own recent experiences with reiki and healing… I consider myself (in a loose term) a christian, but don’t believe that reiki or any other spiritual practices like it are a conflict to my religion/beliefs – for me this type of spirituality is about “self” and like you said, all about energy etc – was shocked when a very christian friend told me it’s bad and that evil spirits are entering your body! Anyway, each to their own is my motto 😉 Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thanks for stopping by you lovely lady 🙂 I went to read your post and Keri’s. Loving them! I really enjoyed it and you are right, each to their own. There are many assumptions around this sort of thing, I assumed too until I researched it and listened to people. A lesson to be learnt by all of us is not to “knock it” till you’ve tried it or don’t know enough about it to knock it.

  2. I love your post , very interesting reading . It’s so good to go on a journey of self-discovery on a spiritiual/ soul level. Reiki is indeed a beautiful form of healing therapy and one that you can easily practice on yourself as well. I have had Reiki treatments before and did the courses. Nowadays , I prefer doing reiki treatments on myself in my own little “sanctuary” at home . There are beautiful chakra balancing guided meditations available in good bookstores and online as well.

    You mention you love books. I would like to recommend a book by a South African Self-Empowerment Author and Multi-media Artist from Cape Town….Cherie Roe Dirken. The Book is called “Carpe Diem or Bust – A Spiritual Guide to the Good Life ” and is available on Kalahari.com
    Website : http://www.cherieroedirsen.com

    Her writing and art is amazing and has helped me tremendously on my search for my ” life’s purpose” and I am still in the process of discovering and learning about the “new me” 🙂

    Would love to read more posts like this because so many of us go through this time in our lives when we feel that there is so much more out there for us to “discover” not only about ourselves , but the world at large and only by sharing like you and the other readers have , can we all assist each other on our journeys…. 🙂 All the best on your journey…

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by and your insightful comment. I am going to look up that book right now 🙂
      It is always amazing to hear other people’s thoughts and to hear about their journey.

Leave a Reply

