DBN Blogger Meet #1

I am sure all my Twitter followers are sick to death of hearing about the DBN Blogger meet because since the beginning of last week, it has been the main topic of my Tweets, and for reason! You see, I have been a blogger for quite a while and as much as I knew there were Durban bloggers out there, our community hadn’t formed properly, we didn’t know each other or even of each other because let’s be honest, Durban is way more chilled than other cities and we kinda just do our own thing and go with the flow. This DBN Blogger meet was more than just an epic social gathering, more than just goodie bags and delicious food, but more about building our Durban blogging community – meeting each other and learning about new blogs! I met so many ladies I have followed on Twitter for ages, I saw some I already knew and then I met some I hadn’t even heard of which was exciting and overwhelming at the same time.

I woke up on Saturday feeling excited and I went to bed with a happy heart on Saturday because the meet was everything I hoped for and more (for many different reasons)

Starting with the Venue, Hashtag was incredibly welcoming and proved to be a good spot for all of us crazy ladies with our phones. As a selfie taker – their selfie zone was something I really appreciated. The pizza was delicious (unlike any other pizza you have tasted) a nice thin base, lots of topping options and it comes served on a cute wooden board with a mini chalkboard pegged onto it with the name of your pizza. It’s creative and cool, just like us Durban folk 🙂 Service was excellent (imagine waiting on 25 hungry and loud bloggers?) but they managed it with a big smile on their face. While small, Hashtag is a great Durban venue for a chilled lunch meeting (ladies, when are meeting again?)

IMG_20140405_174747
Selfie Zone

1396687391524

 

I could feel the excitement and the atmosphere as soon as I walked into Hashtag and it probably had to do with seeing all the lovely ladies as well as what was on the tables

IMG_20140405_104409
You guys, those macaroons!!!
Hands down the yummiest cupcake I have ever eaten. I will be travelling to Shongweni Market specially for these
Hands down the yummiest cupcake I have ever eaten. I will be travelling to Shongweni Market specially for these

We then had the formalities – the whole event was for Kitty Action, we raised R1250 and lots of food for the kitties so Mandy from the organization joined us and we had a Kitty Action talk, we then had a Lenovo talk, all about the Lenovo Yoga tablet. We were also told that there was a Yoga up for grabs if we tweeted what would we give to have the Yoga tablet, you can check out those tweets using the #loveyourlenovo hashtag (believe me they are worth a look, had some serious laughs) the ladies and myself spent the whole day coming up with things to tweet, so I am not entirely sure how much we heard from the Fry’s guy BUT he made an appearance and made some very valid points

Batteries were flat by the time we left and we were only there for three hours or so
Batteries were flat by the time we left and we were only there for three hours or so

I am very excited to say that myself and Nazneen were chosen. Yes, you heard me right, I won a Lenovo Yoga tablet and let me say it is an amaaaaazing piece of technology which deserves it’s own blog post which will be up once I can tear myself away from it for long enough to actually write about it (this post is hard enough because it is not being done on my tablet) basically, I said I would pass my Lenovo laptop onto someone deserving if I could win this, and I genuinely meant it because when I was tweeting I had a school and an individual in mind who I both know could use it. I am going to take some time to think about who to pass it onto (mostly because it is a tough decision and right now I am way too wrapped up in my tablet for anything else) but if you have any worthy suggestions to add to my list of possible recipients, please feel free to leave a comment below.

Me receiving my Yoga, thanks for the pic Jane :)
Me receiving my Yoga, thanks for the pic Jane 🙂
Proud owner of a brand new Yoga
Proud owner of a brand new Yoga…. the excitement!!!!

But winning the Yoga tablet wasn’t the only thing that came as surprise, the goodie bags (I am sure you have heard many things about these goodie bags if you follow any of the ladies who attended) I took a pic to show you how big there were

1396708808425It was filled with amazing things, from stationery to tea cups and beauty goodies. The brands that sponsored us were all amazing and I know every lady loved everything she received. I wish I had taken a second out from the excitement to snap a video of the ladies reactions while unpacking them and discovering all the treasures.

I have a few favourites already but overall was really chuffed at the kindness of all the sponsors and the hard work put in by the ladies who organized the whole event, Nicola, Michelle and Verushka

The smell is amaaaazing!!!! Totally in love
The smell is amaaaazing!!!! Totally in love
Already putting my Elephant shoe daily planner, Consol bottle and Lenovo tablet to good use in the office this morning
Already putting my Elephant shoe daily planner, Consol bottle and Lenovo tablet to good use in the office this morning

I numbered this blog post because there are more to come so keep an eye out for them!

Big thanks goes to the lovely ladies I mentioned earlier, Nicola, Michelle and Verushka who organized EVERYTHING and made the day awesome and memorable! Also a huge thanks to Hashtag for having us and feeding and hydrating us. To all our sponsors – WOW! You all outdid yourselves by giving us amazing treasures! And of course, a special thanks to all the ladies who attended and who took the time to chat to me and get to know me. I really hope we can do it again soon (maybe on a smaller scale, we don’t expect goodie bags as big, maybe slightly smaller haha)

Here are a few more snaps

Meat ala King pizza
Meat ala King pizza
Madame Macaron
Madame Macaron
Cool Scrabble letter décor at Hashtag
Cool Scrabble letter décor at Hashtag
A very bad image of the goodie bag contents (not even all of them)
A very bad image of the goodie bag contents (not even all of them)

 

 

Leave a Reply

