Fashion Flashback: The 1950s

1950s-fashionThe 1950s was a time when fashion changed and is a time I am absolutely fascinated with. I always say I was born in the wrong era because I would have loved to see how things worked back in the day. Luckily for Google I can get all sorts of information and pictures which helps me imagine what it was like.

The ready to wear industry, the Chanel Suit and gloves were born in the 1950s and while ready to wear is still pretty much a part of life as we know it now, everything else is not as big a part. When last did you see a lady wearing long white gloves?

Elegance and grace are two words that come to mind when I think of the 50s.

While doing my research on this era, I was stunned and excited to see that the likes of Christian Dior, Coco Chanel, Ferragamo, Gucci, Jacques Fath, Lanvin, Pierre Balmain, Cristobel Balenciaga, Burberry were the big labels and designers even back then which excites me because there are years of history and knowledge behind these labels that we still, to this day, want/drool over/long for.

What else was big in the 50s? peep toe shoes, knitwear (cardigans and sweaters) the cowl neck, Frank Sinatra, Marilyn Monroe and of course the king, Elvis Presley

And now you can see why the 1950s has got me so fascinated!

Leave a Reply

