The Adorkable Clan

If you haven’t read Adorkable by Sarra Manning yet, then where have you been? If you have, then you will fully and totally understand this post, and hopefully agree?

I didn’t know what to expect when I heard about the book, it was a book I wanted to read because of the name and I saw the main character was a blogger, and I’m always interested in stuff like that. Then I got the book and kind of left it on my to-do list (what was I thinking) until I saw a comment on Twitter by my favorite reviewer and fellow book nerd, Tammy, who was raving about it. Saturday night I was bored and wondering what to do when Adorkable popped into my mind. I headed downstairs to get comfy on the couch and made some blue O Tees, if you haven’t had them you won’t understand, if you have had them and don’t like them, we simply can’t be friends and I started reading.

What I started was not just a book, it was a world of interesting people that I wanted to know. Sarra Manning did such a outstanding job on her characters and the storyline that I still can’t get over it.

Basically it goes like this, Jeane Smith is a total nut, she is a dork but proud of it and has started a lifestyle brand called Adorkable to show just how proud of being a dork she is, and also to show how against comformity she is. You know, all those high school people who talk and dress the same, ya that, she hates it! She dresses in vintage and never black because its boring, she loves jumble sales and has a huge, strong personality.

Then there’s Michael Lee, the school star and stud who comes to a conclusion that his girlfriend and Jeane’s boyfriend totes have a thing for each other.

Without giving too much away this book takes you on both Jeane and Michaels journey, which is sometimes together and sometimes apart. Adorkable’s alternating chapters tells us the story of Michael and Jeane from each of their points of view which allows for one to really understand not only how the one thinks but how they see other.

You can’t help but fall in love with these wack characters, specially Jeane and I can honestly say this book changed my mindset and my life. Behind the wit of the book, there was really valuable lessons to learnt.

You don’t need to be a teenager to read this book, you also don’t need to be any kind of person, you just need to know that once you start, you won’t put it down and when you finish it in like a day or two, you will have serious book hangover

All in all this book is a must-read-now kinda book because until you’ve read it you won’t fully understand.

I’ve read a lot of books, and usually like each and every one, but this one was different in so many ways that it is my favorite!

“The Ad♥rkable Manifesto

1. We have nothing to declare but our dorkiness.
2. Jumble sales are our shopping malls.
3. Better to make cookies than be a cookie-cutter.
4. Suffering doesn’t necessarily improve you but it does give you something to blog about.
5. Experiment with Photoshop, hair dye, nail polish and cupcake flavours but never drugs.
6. Don’t follow leaders, be one.
7. Necessity is the mother of customisation.
8. Puppies make everything better.
9. Quiet girls rarely make history.
10. Never shield your oddness, but wear your oddness like a shield.”
―    Sarra Manning,    Adorkable

3 thoughts on “The Adorkable Clan

    1. Kalahari.com currently has it for R84.00, but I’m sure if you don’t want to go the online route then Exclusive Books should have a copy, not entirely sure of the price.
      You have to read it, and then come back and tell me what you thought of it 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Love from Durbs

Leave a Reply

