My fashionable & fun adventure

After a very busy and fun-filled five days I have finally settled down long enough to think and write. After winning a dream trip from Grazia Magazine, I decided not to take my laptop with me as I figured I’d take a break from everything, but after a couple of hours in Cape Town and after day one of MBCTFW I wished I had brought it along – so much to say and share.

Now that I am back in Durban, safe and sounds full of excitement and memories I can share my experience with all of you 🙂

For those of you who don’t know – Grazia was running an all inclusive competition for MBCTFW which included frow tickets to ALL the shows, a four night stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, flights and VIP access at the shows (among a few other goodies) so when they called me to say I had won, you can imagine my reaction – screaming, shaking, jumping and excitement at the thought of flying for the first to Cape Town where I have been absolutely dying to go, for fashion week.

We (the fiancee and I) flew on Wednesday and arrived at the Radisson Blu, which literally took my breath away. So lush, so luxurious and so beautiful, I decided there and then I want to live there.

Naturally, we headed straight to the V&A Waterfront, where I lost my mind once again at the sight of a real-life Burberry shop and once again at the beautiful sights of Cape Town.

Later in the day we took the Mercedes Benz fashion week shuttle to City Hall where the first shows were happening and yes Kluk was as amazing as everyone has been saying (more on that and the other shows in my next post)

We spent the rest of our days touring the city and sights, attending fashion shows, sipping champagne and meeting interesting and exciting people.

Of course I got to meet lovely ladies whose blogs I have been following since I became part of the blogosphere, Nicole Warr – Vintage Lifestyle Magazine, Sheri Lee – SA Fashion Girl, and Jasna – Fashionjazz

Then I got to meet Ms Elle Fashion herself, Poppy Evans and my truly amazing editor at All4Women, Rebecca as well as Marianna who also writes for All4Women.

I sat across the likes of Bryan Habana, Patricia de Lil, Liezel van der Westhuizen and Matthew Booth at the shows.

On Saturday (our last full day) we took the sightseeing bus with an open top around the city, Camps Bay and Kirstenbosch which had me oohing and aahing because firstly, Camps Bay is amazing and secondly the buildings in the city are so old and beautiful. I didn’t realise just how much I enjoy buildings and architecture..

All in all it was an experience I will never forget because while I could take a trip to Cape Town anytime, I wouldn’t be able to stay in a place like the Radisson, I wouldn’t be sitting in the frow for fashion week and I wouldn’t be able to see so many stylish people in one place at one time.

Cape Town – you are beautiful and your residents are friendly and welcoming. I loved every minute and hope I can come back soon.

I will be posting all about Fashion Week soon, so keep an eye out 🙂

What have you all been up to?

Leave a Reply

