On this day in fashion history

2006, Donatella Versace told of the difficulties of taking over from her brother Gianni after his death. “I got to my role right after a tragic event, the death of my brother, so I was very insecure for a while because my brother was a genius,” she said, “I was not ready for the role when that happened. I took a certain time to find my way. While I wanted to keep Gianni’s beliefs in fashion alive, I knew he would have wanted to keep changing if he was still alive,” she went on. “So I decided to follow my instinct, which was to approach fashion in a more feminine, softer way – being a woman designer.”

 

**Source

One thought on “On this day in fashion history

Leave a Reply

