Being tattooed

I am a fan of tattoos, I like looking at them, I like repinning them on Pinterest and I like getting them! I have four of my own and I love all of them.

63d3bb25caf7a7f4b2bec0c2c0febc93

With having ink on your body comes a lot of questions, from those who are interested in getting a tattoo and want to know about the experience to those who will never in their life get one, and of course, those who ask questions so that they can lecture you.

I am going to answer those questions now so that we can get past this

Was it sore?

I was guilty of asking this question before I got my first one which I now know is a very silly question to ask – it is needles digging/poking into your skin over a period of time so yes, it is sore, but it is not unbearable and is worth it when you see the end result. You forget the actual feeling after a few days when the itching starts and before you know it all is forgotten and you’re ready for the next one.

Aren’t you worried about what they are going to look like when you’re old/pregnant?

It will look the same just slightly older/faded/stretched/wrinkled. Age and pregnancy doesn’t suddenly turn your butterfly tattoo into a monster tattoo, it simply ages/stretches with you which is actually beautiful really, it travels my life journey with me!

How much did you pay for it?

Well considering mine are at least all a year old I actually don’t remember and also, unless you want the exact same thing as me in the exact same place, how is giving you the price I paid going to help you?

 I want this, how much do you think it will be?

This usually comes after the “how much did you pay for it” question and is the one that grates me most. Ask a tattoo artist, simple as that!

Is it real?

Do I look 12? Do I look like I would actually take a fake tattoo out of the cereal box and use water and a face cloth to stick it on my body? Please refrain from this question.

a8e840f078498cfd91fc0098d250d15a

People also tend to get touchy when they see a tattoo, if you have writing (like I do) that is peeking out they will move your clothes to read what it says (this happens to me all too often with the writing on my upper back) and if it is in full view they feel like it is an open invitation to touch it so let’s get a few things straight

- It is real

- When you touch it, it won’t feel any different to that part of your body

- If you want to touch me or my tattoos warn me first so that I don’t have a heart attack when I feel someone touching my back (this happened in the line at the garage this morning and over the weekend at rugby)

As much as I think the stereotypes have died down I would just like to clear it up that I am not hardcore, goth, punk or trailor trash, I am just a girl with an appreciation for this form of art.

Art is about self expression and creativity – some people hang their art, we wear ours!

7 thoughts on “Being tattooed

  1. Personally I’d never get a tatoo, but I love catching glimpses of other people’s tattoos. I always find it interesting or wonder what the story behind it is, and I’ve seen some really beautiful ones. I can’t imagine asking someone I’d just met what their tatoo says, or try feel or read it up close without being invited. Kind of weird that people do that. Nice post Kerry :)

    • Hey Lee-Ann
      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment :)
      Tattoos are definitely not for everyone but that doesn’t mean they are bad, or good, they just are but some can’t leave it at that
      hahahaha, you won’t believe how many people touch my back to move my shirt so they can read it.

  2. I love this post Kerry!! I love tattoos. And I’m also guilty of always asking about meanings and history. Boundaries Charlene, boundaries! Going for no 5 tomorrow :)

  3. i really enjoyed this thanks Ke.
    i LOVE tattoos and also tend to ask what they mean. i cant help it im curious.
    heres to us inked up girls :)

Leave a Reply

